To access the full text documents, please follow this link:

Ultraporous poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) for nanometric electrochemical supercapacitor
Aradilla Zapata, David; Estrany Coda, Francesc; Armelín Diggroc, Elaine Aparecida; Alemán Llansó, Carlos
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya. Departament d'Enginyeria Química
Ultrathin films of poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) (PEDOT) have been prepared by electropolymerization on steel and indium-tin oxide (ITO) substrates under identical experimental conditions. Scanning electron microscopy and atomic force microscopy indicate that the substrate affects dramatically both the morphology and topography of films when the polymerization times are very short. An ultraporous three-dimensional network involving ultrathin sticks with a fiber-like morphology was formed on ITO. Asymmetric and symmetric supercapacitors have been fabricated by assembling electrodes of PEDOT deposited on ITO and steel. The specific capacitance, electrochemical stability, supercapacitor behavior and Coulombic efficiency measured for devices with an ITO/steel configuration were similar to those reported for advanced PEDOT-inorganic hybrid composites. Furthermore, the performance of the ITO/steel assembly is higher than those determined for symmetric supercapacitors derived from two identical electrodes of PEDOT deposited on steel or on ITO. The unique properties of the asymmetric supercapacitors have been attributed to the ultraporous structure of the ultrathin films deposited on ITO, which is not significantly perturbed when the device is submitted to a very high number of consecutive oxidation–reduction processes, and the different electroactivities of the two electrodes.
Àrees temàtiques de la UPC::Enginyeria química
Conducting polymers
Conducting polymers
Electrochemical stability
Ultrathin films
Polímers conductors
Restricted access - publisher's policy

Show full item record

Related documents

Other documents of the same author

Aradilla Zapata, David; Estrany Coda, Francesc; Armelín Diggroc, Elaine Aparecida; Oliver, R.; Iribarren Laco, José Ignacio; Alemán Llansó, Carlos
Armelín Diggroc, Elaine Aparecida; Bertran Cànovas, Òscar; Estrany Coda, Francesc; Salvatella, Roser; Alemán Llansó, Carlos
Bertran Cànovas, Òscar; Armelín Diggroc, Elaine Aparecida; Estrany Coda, Francesc; Gomes, Alex; Torras Costa, Juan; Alemán Llansó, Carlos
Cruz Teixeira Dias, Bruno José da; Alemán Llansó, Carlos; Estrany Coda, Francesc; Azambuja, Denise S.; Armelín Diggroc, Elaine Aparecida
Zanuy Gomara, David; Valle Mendoza, Luis Javier del; Estrany Coda, Francesc; Armelín Diggroc, Elaine Aparecida; Alemán Llansó, Carlos; Teixeira-Dias, Bruno José Da Cruz